Asymmetric Warfare - it's not just for the other guys:
|  Home  |  Internet  |  OSINT |  Off-Topic |

 

18 March 2006
al-Hesbah posts fake "suspended site" message

In this latest episode, the al-Hesbah forum - seemingly implicated in the takedown of the rival Tajdeed site - has responded by faking its own demise:


http://www.alhesbah.org/

If one digs just a little deeper, however, one finds that the site, while temporarily closed, is still among the living:


http://www.alhesbah.org/v/

And if you look at the source code of the "suspended" page, you see that they saved a real page of that type and posted it in a fairly transparent attempt to deceive visitors:


Source View of http://www.alhesbah.org/

Who knows what stunning new developments await us in the coming week!

[rolls eyes and thinks to self: "this is almost as much fun as a good curling match."]

UPDATE: Well, that didn't take long. Shortly after we posted the above the al-Hesbah site was replaced with a slightly more convincing - if somewhat bizarre - "suspended site" page. At the moment it works like this:

http://www.alhesbah.org
loads
http://mhtasib.net/suspended.page/
which loads
http://dream.mhtasib.net/suspended.page/
which says:

and then attempts to load:
http://coq509.fc2web.com/mtasiro.htm
which is 404:
http://fc2.com/404.html
and loads:
http://fc2.com/

What does it all mean? Who knows. But if they come back, we'll be waiting.

Posted on 18 March 2006 @ 08:08